Ike unemployment assistance extended

November 13, 2008 4:12:14 PM PST
The deadline to receive Hurricane Ike-related unemployment assistance for Texans in 34 designated counties has been extended to Dec. 12. ROAD TO RECOVERY: How you can help | Person locator | Important phone numbers | Assistance from FEMA | Filing a claim

A statement late Wednesday from FEMA and the Texas Governor's Division of Emergency Management said it was the second deadline extension for people who became unemployed or lost self-employment due to Ike.

The 34 counties are Angelina, Austin, Brazoria, Chambers, Cherokee, Fort Bend, Galveston, Gregg, Grimes, Hardin, Harris, Harrison, Houston, Jasper, Jefferson, Liberty, Madison, Matagorda, Montgomery, Nacogdoches, Newton, Orange, Polk, Rusk, Sabine, San Augustine, San Jacinto, Shelby, Smith, Trinity, Tyler, Walker, Waller and Washington.

The Disaster Unemployment Assistance program is funded by FEMA through the U.S. Department of Labor and administered by the Texas Workforce Commission.

Keep your family safe this hurricane season. Check our complete tropical weather preparation guide