Three area HS football coaches honored

January 23, 2008 10:16:34 AM PST
Three area high school football coaches have been honored by the Texans as high school coaches of the year. The 5A coach of the year is Katy's Gary Joseph. Joseph led Katy to a perfect 16-0 season and a state championship with a win over Pflugerville 28-7.

Lydell Wilson of Lamar Consolidated is the Texans 4A coach of the year. The Mustangs took the state title with a 20-7 win over Copperas Cove. That was after a 10-0 regular season.

And St. Pius coach Robin Kirk wins after leading the Panthers to their second straight TAPPS state championship, beating Ft. Worth Nolan 38-14.

Congratulations to all the coaches.

- Send us your sports story tips
- Click here for more sports stories