Runoff election results for several Houston-area communities

KTRK logo
Monday, December 14, 2020
What to know if you're voting
EMBED <>More Videos

Here is what you need to know if you're voting.

HOUSTON, Texas (KTRK) -- Runoff Election Day came to an end in several Houston-area communities Saturday evening.

Tarsha Jackson won the race for Houston City Council Member, District B against Cynthia Bailey more than a year after the original election.

RELATED: 'I served my time': City Council candidate at center of legal battle says

New mayors were also elected in Missouri City and Stafford.

Robin Elackatt defeated incumbent Yolanda Ford in the Missouri City mayor's race with nearly 53 percent of the vote, according to unofficial results.

Incumbent Missouri City Council At-Large Position 2 member Chris Preston was defeated by challenger Lynn Clouser with nearly 60 percent of the vote.

RELATED: Missouri City set to sue Fort Bend County over early-voting locations for Dec. 12 runoff election

In Stafford, Cecil Willis was elected mayor and will take over for the late Leonard Scarcella. Willis defeated AJ Honore with nearly 54 percent of the vote.

RELATED: Mayor Leonard Scarcella of Stafford dies at age 79

In Humble, Paula Settle defeated Arliss Bailey by just two votes for Council Member Place 4, according to unofficial results.

Baytown voters chose Jacob Powell for Councilmember District 5 over Thomas Parent with 65 percent of the vote, and Mike Lester defeated Susan Cummings for Councilmember District 6 with 53 percent of the vote.

In La Porte, Gary Rohr won the Councilperson District 6 race with 60 percent of the vote over Robbie McLarrin.

In Nassau Bay, Bob Warters defeated Ashley Graves in the mayor's race with 56 percent of the vote.

Runoffs are held when candidates fail to garner more than 50 percent of the vote in an election.

RELATED: 2020 local election results