Texans send four players to 2010 Pro Bowl

HOUSTON [SPORTS BLOG: Read the latest from the Eyewitness Sports team]

Houston linebacker Brian Cushing, wide receiver Andre Johnson, linebacker DeMeco Ryans and defensive end Mario Williams were all selected to play in the showcase of the league's best players.

With four Pro Bowlers, the Texans surpass last year's total of three for most in team history. It is the sixth consecutive season the Texans have had a player in the Pro Bowl and the third straight year the team has had at least one starter.

Johnson will make his team-record fourth appearance and third start in the Pro Bowl. He is the second player in NFL history to post back-to-back 1,500-yard seasons.

Williams will make his second appearance. He joins Johnson as the first Texans to make it to the Pro Bowl in consecutive seasons.

Also making a second appearance is Ryans. He leads the team with 87 solo tackles and is second with 116 tackles.

Cushing becomes the second Texans rookie to make the Pro Bowl, joining returner Jerome Mathis in 2005. He is one of three rookies to make this year's Pro Bowl.

The Texans also have three alternates named to the AFC squad: quarterback Matt Schaub, fullback Vonta Leach, and returner Jacoby Jones.

The 2010 Pro Bowl will take place on January, 31, 2010, one week before Super Bowl XLIV. The game will be held at Land Shark Stadium in South Florida, also the site of the Super Bowl. It is the first NFL all-star game on the mainland in 30 years.

Copyright © 2023 KTRK-TV. All Rights Reserved.