Bourn sole Astro selected to All-Star team

HOUSTON It's the first time Bourn has been included in the midsummer classic, which will be played July 13 in Anaheim. Bourn is batting .260 this season and leads the National League in stolen bases with 25.

National League

David Wright has overtaken Placido Polanco in the final week of voting to be the National League's starting third baseman in the All-Star game.

Cardinals first baseman Albert Pujols was again the leading National League All-Star vote-getter. AL MVP catcher Joe Mauer is top vote-getter overall for the July 13th game.

The other NL starters are: Cardinals catcher Yadier Molina; Phillies second baseman Chase Utley; Marlins shortstop Hanley Ramirez; and Millwaukee's Ryan Braun, Los Angeles' Andre Ethier and Atlanta's Jayson Heyward in the outfield.

Other AL starters: Robinson Cano, Derek Jeter, Justin Morneau, Evan Longoria, Vladimir Guerrero, Josh Hamilton, Ichiro Suzuki and Carl Crawford.

American League

American League MVP Joe Mauer is the fans' choice to start the 81st All-Star game in Anaheim.

The Minnesota Twins catcher was announced as the top vote-getter by Major League Baseball on Sunday. He is joined by teammate and first baseman Justin Morneau on the American League's starting squad.

The other AL starters: Yankees second baseman Robinson Cano and shortstop Derek Jeter; Tampa Bay third baseman Evan Longoria; Texas designated hitter Vladimir Guerrero; and Texas' Josh Hamilton, Seattle's Ichiro Suzuki and Tampa Bay's Carl Crawford in the outfield.

Copyright © 2022 KTRK-TV. All Rights Reserved.