Schedule of events for Royal Wedding

April 29, 2011 1:05:48 AM PDT
A schedule of events for the April 29 wedding of Britain's Prince William to Kate Middleton.
  • 0815 BST (0715 GMT; 3:15 a.m. EDT) -- Guests begin arriving at the Great North Door of London's Westminster Abbey.
  • 0950 BST (0850 GMT; 4:50 a.m. EDT) -- Governors-general and prime ministers of realm countries, the diplomatic corps, and other distinguished guests arrive at the Abbey.
  • 1010 BST (0910 GMT; 5:10 a.m. EDT) -- Prince William and Prince Harry leave Clarence House for Westminster Abbey. They arrive at the Abbey at 10.15am.
  • 1015 BST (0915 GMT; 5:15 a.m. EDT) -- The princes arrive at Westminster Abbey.
  • 1020 BST (0920 GMT; 5:20 a.m. EDT) -- Members of foreign royal families arrive at Westminster Abbey from Buckingham Palace.
  • 1027 BST (0927 GMT; 5:27 a.m. EDT) -- Middleton's mother, Carole, and brother, James, arrive at the Abbey.
  • 1030 BST (0930 GMT; 5:30 a.m. EDT) -- Select members of Britain's royal family arrive at the Abbey.
  • 1040 BST (0940 GMT; 5:40 a.m. EDT) -- Queen Elizabeth II and her husband, Prince Philip, leave Buckingham Palace for the Abbey as Prince Andrew and daughters Princess Beatrice, Princess Eugenie; Prince Edward and his wife, Sophie; Princess Anne and her husband Timothy Laurence arrive for the ceremony.
  • 1042 BST (0942 GMT; 5:42 a.m. EDT) -- Prince Charles and his wife, Camilla, arrive at the Abbey from Clarence House.
  • 1045 BST (0945 GMT; 5:45 a.m. EDT) -- The queen and Prince Philip arrive at the Abbey.
  • 1051 BST (0951 GMT; 5:51 a.m. EDT) -- The bride, accompanied by her father, Michael, leaves the Goring Hotel for the Abbey.
  • 1055 BST (0955 GMT; 5:55 a.m. EDT) -- Bridesmaids and pages arrive at the Abbey from the Goring Hotel.
  • Roughly 1100 BST (1000 GMT; 6:00 a.m. EDT) -- The bride arrives. Marriage ceremony, which will be relayed on audio speakers along the wedding route, begins.
  • 1215 BST (1115 GMT; 7:15 a.m. EDT) -- William and his new wife emerge from the Abbey and depart in the 1902 State Landau, a carriage, and travel to Buckingham Palace, followed by the queen.
  • 1230 BST (1130 GMT; 7:30 a.m. EDT) -- The bride's carriage procession arrives at Buckingham palace, followed by members of Britain's royal family and other foreign royals ten minutes later.
  • 1240 BST (1140 GMT; 7:40 a.m. EDT) -- Guests for the wedding reception arrive at Buckingham Palace.
  • 1325 BST (1225 GMT; 8:25 a.m. EDT) -- William and Middleton, accompanied by the queen and family, appear on the balcony of Buckingham Palace.
  • 1330 BST (1230 GMT; 8:30 a.m. EDT) -- The royals watch a ceremonial flypast from the Royal Air Force and Battle of Britain Memorial Flight before returning inside for the queen's reception.

  • Load Comments