Watt, Hopkins selected to NFL Pro Bowl

KTRK logo
Wednesday, December 23, 2015
JJ Watt and DeAndre Hopkins were both named to the Pro Bowl on Tuesday.

HOUSTON (KTRK) -- The Houston Texans will have two players represent the team in this year's Pro Bowl. One is a familiar face on the squad. The other was selected for the first time.

JJ Watt and DeAndre Hopkins were both named to the team Tuesday. Watt has been named to the team for four straight years now. For Hopkins, it was the first time he's earned the honor.

Hopkins became the third-youngest player in NFL history to reach 200 career receptions and 3,000 career receiving yards, behind only Larry Fitzgerald (23 years, 108 days) and David Boston (23 years, 126 days). He also became the first player in NFL history with at least nine catches and 145 receiving yards in three consecutive games (Weeks 4-6).

Watt passed Derrick Thomas (66.0) for the second-most career sacks in a player's first five seasons in NFL history and became the second-fastest player in NFL history to reach 70.0 sacks (Reggie White, 57 games).

Watt has 66 tackles, 13.5 sacks for 87.5 yards, 25 tackles for loss, 44 quarterback hits, five passes defensed and one forced fumble. He is currently the league leader in quarterback hits, tackles for loss and is tied for second in the league in sacks. For his career, Watt has 70.5 sacks, 203 quarterback hits, 128 tackles for loss, 11 fumble recoveries, 13 forced fumbles, and 42 passes defensed.

Tackle Duane Brown was named an alternate.

The game will be played in Honolulu on January 31. The 2016 Pro Bowl teams will be determined through the Pro Bowl Draft. Pro Football Hall of Famers Jerry Rice and Michael Irvin will serve as alumni captains, choosing the two rosters.

Related Topics