Presidential inaugurations through the years

KTRK logo
Thursday, January 19, 2017
Presidential inaugurations through the years
Here's a look at over 30 years of Presidential inaugurations.

Every four years following the election, the President of the United States is sworn in during the inauguration ceremony.

1 of 35
President Barack Obama takes the oath of office at the ceremonial swearing-in during the 57th Presidential Inauguration in Washington, Monday, Jan. 21, 2013.
Scott Andrews/AP Photo

George Washington was the first president to be sworn in on April 30, 1789, at the Senate Chamber of Federal Hall in New York.

From 1793 to 1933, inaugurations were held on March 4, but in 1933, the 20th Amendment moved the beginning and end of presidential terms to Jan. 20, changing the inauguration date.