Clemson's head coach Dabo Swinney named coach of the year at Bryant Awards

KTRK logo
Thursday, January 14, 2016

HOUSTON (KTRK) -- Clemson's head coach Dabo Swinney has been named the national coach of the year at the Paul "Bear" Bryant Awards, beating out University of Houston coach Tom Herman.

Larry Fedora of North Carolina, Iowa's Kirk Ferentz, David Shaw of Stanford and Navy's Ken Niumatalolo also were all finalists for the for college football's top coach.

The awards ceremony is being held here in Houston.

Also tonight, former UT coach Mack Brown was honored for the Bear Bryant Lifetime Achievement Award.

The Associated Press contributed to this report

Keep checking back on this page to get real-time updates as this story unfolds. To get alerts for breaking news, download the ABC-13 news app for iPhone or Android. You can also get breaking news alerts sent to you by email.

Related Topics