Cell phone use while driving now illegal in two major Texas cities

Friday, January 2, 2015

AUSTIN, TX -- While there's no statewide law prohibiting hand-held cell phone use while driving, you might find yourself with a big fine if you do it now in two big Texas cities.

New ordinances went into effect in both San Antonio and Austin yesterday. Austin's law prohibits the use of all electronic hand-held devices while driving and riding a bicycle. And in San Antonio, you're not allowed to drive while using a mobile device to talk or text.

The fine if you're caught in Austin is up to $500. In San Antonio, you could be looking at a $200 fine.

There are still statewide laws drivers must adhere to when it comes to cell phone use.

  • Drivers with learners permits are prohibited from using handheld cell phones in the first six months of driving.
  • Drivers under the age of 18 are prohibited from using wireless communications devices.
  • School bus operators are prohibited from using cell phones while driving if children are present.
  • In school crossing zones, all drivers are prohibited from using handheld devices.