Students awarded thousands in scholarships

HOUSTON The Comcast Leaders and Achievers Scholarship Program, one of the Comcast Foundation's signature community investment programs, recognizes students in local communities who have demonstrated leadership skills, academic achievement and a commitment to community service.

"As the cost of college continues to rise, Comcast is proud to present each of these young people with the Comcast Leaders and Achievers Scholarship in recognition of their hard work and the leadership they have shown in their communities," said Tony Speller, Senior Vice President for Comcast's Houston Region. "These students represent our future leaders and we're excited by this opportunity to give back to the communities where our employees and our customers live and work."

A commitment to community service is an essential component in the selection of winners of Comcast Leaders and Achievers Scholarships. This year's winners have participated in a wide variety of community service activities, such as helping revitalize communities as part of mission work, mentoring and coaching younger students, volunteering at hospitals and participating in local blood, food and clothing drives. Local community organizations like Big Brothers Big Sisters, YMCA, the American Red Cross, Special Olympics and the Houston Area Women's Center have benefited from their service.

Nationally, 1,965 high school seniors are the beneficiaries of $1,000 Comcast Leaders and Achievers scholarships this year. In the eight years since the Leaders and Achievers Scholarship Program began, it has awarded close to $10 million in college aid to more than 9,000 students. Local Houston area scholarship winners will be attending colleges such as the University of Texas, Texas A&M University, Rice University, Texas Southern University, University of Houston, Harvard College and the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, among others.

Each year, Comcast works with high school principals, guidance counselors, and school administrators to select the scholarship recipients. The program is managed by Scholarship Program Administrators – an independent, not-for-profit organization that manages corporate and corporate foundation scholarship programs.

    Houston Leaders and Achievers Winner List
  • Catherine Schweitzer of Galveston (Ball HS)
  • Selina Figueroa of Conroe (Caney Creek HS)
  • Jordan Jones of Houston (Carnegie Vanguard HS)
  • Lilia Vera of Houston (Chavez HS)
  • Rosaura Estrada of Conroe (Conroe HS)
  • Vi Pham of Houston (Cy-Creek HS)
  • Laura Austin of Houston (Cy-Falls HS)
  • Robert Coltharp of Cypress (Cy-Springs HS)
  • Paul Fontenot of Dayton (Dayton HS)
  • Cobert Archie of Dickinson (Dickinson HS)
  • Yann-Bor Wen of Sugarland (Dulles HS)
  • Cinthia Cervantes of Houston (Eastwood Academy Charter)
  • Havern Tang of Missouri City (Elkins HS)
  • Linda Ugbah of Houston (Elsik HS)
  • Dalia Rodriguez of Houston (Forest Brook HS)
  • Marissa Keith of Sugarland (Ft. Bend Baptist HS)
  • Cara Clark of Richmond (Foster HS)
  • Karen Baker of Friendswood (Friendswood HS)
  • Iris Barbosa of Houston (Furr HS)
  • Rachelle Curtis of Emporia (Greensville County HS)
  • La Treva Green of Hitchcock (Hitchcock HS)
  • Sean McMillan of Humble (Humble HS)
  • Jasmine Mallett of Houston (Jordan HS)
  • Christopher Perry of Katy (Katy HS)
  • Shanup Dalal of Sugarland (Kempner HS)
  • Becky Luu of Houston (Kerr HS)
  • Holly Burgess of Klein (Klein HS)
  • Erin Jentz of Spring (Klein Collins HS)
  • William Lakin of Houston (Klein Forest HS)
  • Andrew Jennings of Spring (Klein Oak HS)
  • Brandon Cahee of La Marque (La Marque HS)
  • Lauren Wallace of Houston (Lamar HS)
  • Meherin Huque of Houston (Langham Creek HS)
  • Alexander Oveal of Houston (Law Enforcement and Criminal Justice HS)
  • Brittany Delano of Houston (Life Christian Academy HS)
  • Maddison Adimora of Houston (Madison HS)
  • Samantha Hilton of Magnolia (Magnolia HS)
  • Johnnie Jackow of Houston (Mayde Creek HS)
  • Juana Mendoza of Houston (Northbrook HS)
  • Robert LaPorte of Galveston (O'Connell HS)
  • Isaac Cohen of Humble (Quest HS)
  • Christy Lala of Santa Fe (Santa Fe HS)
  • Laura Flores of Houston (Scarborough HS)
  • Ana Sanchez of Katy (Seven Lakes HS)
  • Edra Yskollari of Houston (Sharpstown HS)
  • Darnella Holland of South Houston (South Houston HS)
  • Barney Lunsford of Spring (Spring HS)
  • Nida Hassan of Houston (St. Agnes Academy HS)
  • Aleida Gamez of Baytown (Sterling HS)
  • Kelly Tucker of Houston (Tucker HS)
  • Syeda Fatima of Houston (Taylor HS)
  • Johnny Espinosa of Rosenberg (Taylor HS)
  • Allison Blundell of Texas City (Texas City HS)
  • Claire Coleman of the Woodlands (Woodlands HS)

** What's making the news in local schools? Find plenty of education news and student achievements in our 'In the Classroom' section

Copyright © 2023 KTRK-TV. All Rights Reserved.