Three Giants, two Cubs among winners of Gold Gloves

ESPN logo
Wednesday, November 9, 2016

NEW YORK -- First baseman Anthony Rizzo and right fielder Jason Heyward from the World Series champion Chicago Cubs have won Gold Glove Awards.

The honors for fielding excellence were announced Tuesday by Rawlings and broadcast on ESPN.

According to Elias Sports Bureau, Heyward is the first position player in Major League Baseball history to win three straight Gold Glove Awards with three different teams (Braves, Cardinalsand Cubs).

San Franciscostar Buster Posey was picked at catcher in the National League, ending Yadier Molina's eight-year reign with St. Louis.

"I don't know if it makes it any more special or not that he had won it eight years in a row because I think I'd be happy with it either way," Posey said. "This one's up there for me. I'm a firm believer you win ballgames with pitching and defense."

Posey was joined by a pair of Giants teammates, the double-play combination of shortstop Brandon Crawford and second baseman Joe Panik.

Colorado third baseman Nolan Arenado won for the fourth consecutive year, and Arizona pitcher Zack Greinke took his third straight Gold Glove. Other winners in the NL were Atlanta center fielder Ender Inciarte and Pittsburgh left fielder Starling Marte.

Young shortstop Francisco Lindor from the AL champion Cleveland Indians was a first-time winner, along with Texas first baseman Mitch Moreland, Detroit second baseman Ian Kinsler, New York Yankees left fielder Brett GardnerandBostonright fielder Mookie Betts.

Kansas City catcher Salvador Perez won his fourth Gold Glove in a row, Houston pitcher Dallas Keuchel took his third straight and Tampa Bay center fielder Kevin Kiermaier repeated from last year.

Rangers third baseman Adrian Beltre was rewarded for the fifth time overall.

"I'm pretty surprised an old man like me can win the Gold Glove," said the 37-year-old Beltre, who was thrilled Moreland won as well.

"I think I'm happier for him than for me because for the last couple of years, he has played such a great defensive first base and was never recognized," Beltre said. "Most of my mistakes are throwing the ball and Mitch has saved me so many errors and makes things look easier for me."

The 22-year-old Lindor became the first Indians player to win a Gold Glove since outfielder Grady Sizemore in 2008, and their second shortstop after Omar Vizquel won every year from 1994 to 2001.

Votes are submitted in September by managers and coaches who cannot choose their own players. Three years ago, Rawlings added a sabermetric component to the Gold Glove selection process as well.

This is the complete list of the Gold Glove winners:

American League

P -- Dallas Keuchel, Houston

C -- Salvador Perez, Kansas City

1B -- Mitch Moreland, Texas

2B -- Ian Kinsler, Detroit

3B -- Adrian Beltre, Texas

SS -- Francisco Lindor, Cleveland

LF -- Brett Gardner, N.Y. Yankees

CF -- Kevin Kiermaier, Tampa Bay

RF -- Mookie Betts, Boston

National League

P -- Zack Greinke, Arizona

C -- Buster Posey, San Francisco

1B -- Anthony Rizzo, Chicago

2B -- Joe Panik, San Francisco

3B -- Nolan Arenado, Colorado

SS -- Brandon Crawford, San Francisco

LF -- Starling Marte, Pittsburgh

CF -- Ender Inciarte, Atlanta

RF -- Jayson Heyward, Chicago

Information from the Associated Press was used in this report.

Related Video