Houston celebrates the LGBTQ community at the FACE Awards

KTRK logo
Tuesday, December 13, 2016
2016 FACE Awards held Monday night at South Beach in Montrose

HOUSTON (KTRK) -- Houston is celebrating the LGBTQ community at the fifth annual First Achievers in Community Excellence (FACE) Awards. The FACE Awards honor the LGBTQ community and its allies.

The event was held Monday night at South Beach in Montrose.

The FACE Awards attracts a cast of Houston politicians and LGBT activists. This year, ABC13 reporter, Steve Campion, is nominated for journalist of the year and ABC13 social media contributor, Antonio Arellano, is nominated for social media personality of the Year. ABC13 reporter, Pooja Lodhia, won journalist of the year in 2015.

Here are some of the 2016 FACE Award Nominees

Journalist Of The Year

- Joey Guerra

- Steve Campion

- Nancy Ford

- Ernie Manouse

Social Media Personality Of The Year

- Jessica Davidson

- Morena Roas

- Harper Watters

- Antonio Arellano

Politician Of The Year

- Kim Ogg for Harris County District Attorney-Elect

- Alan Rosen for Constable Precinct One

- Sylvester Turner for Mayor of the City of Houston

- Garnett Coleman for State Representive

- John Whitmire for Texas Senate

Restaurant of the Year

- El-Tiempo

- BB's Café

- Little Bigs

- Pepperoni's

- The Breakfast Klub

Philanthropist of The Year

- Monica Roberts

- Veronica Simms

- Paul Pettie

- Tanner Williams

- Gary Wood

Volunteer Of The Year

- Fran Watson

- Travis Nixon

- Jeffry Faircloth

- Sarah Pepper

- Monica Roberts

- Tammi Wallance

Activist Of The Year

- Ashton Woods

- Lou Weaver

- Dee Dee Waters

- Robin Mack

- Mike Webb

Non-Profit Of The Year

- The Montrose Center

- Houston Gay Kids

- The Diana Foundation

- Transgender Foundation of America

Entertainer Of The Year

- Cristina Wells

- Joey Taylor

- Mel Rose

- Leo King

- Wendy Taylor

Business Of The Year

- Bohome Bar

- ORYX Wear

- Crew Staffing

- George County Sports Bar

- Crocker Bar

- Adam/Eve