FEMA to help wildfire-stricken Texas counties

July 1, 2011 12:51:00 PM PDT
President Barack Obama on Friday signed a disaster declaration that will help several Texas counties receive federal assistance in their efforts to recover from wildfires that erupted during the spring.

The U.S. Department of Homeland Security's Federal Emergency Management Agency says aid has been made available to supplement state and local recovery efforts for areas that were struck by wildfires between April 6 and May 3.

Counties that are eligible to receive the funding include: Andrews, Archer, Armstrong, Bailey, Baylor, Brewster, Callahan, Carson, Castro, Clay, Coleman, Concho, Cottle, Crockett, Dawson, Duval, Eastland, Garza, Glasscock, Hall, Hemphill, Hockley, Irion, Kent, King, Lynn, Martin, Mason, Mitchell, Moore, Motley, Pecos, Presidio, Scurry, Stephens, Sterling, Sutton, Terrell, Terry, Throckmorton, Tom Green, Trinity, Tyler, Val Verde, and Young.

Kevin L. Hannes, who will be the Federal Coordinating Officer for those counties, said additional designations may be made at a later date if requested by the state and warranted by the results of further damage assessments.