Governor issues Dolly disaster declaration

July 22, 2008 2:09:20 PM PDT
Gov. Rick Perry has issued a disaster declaration for 14 South Texas counties in advance of Tropical Storm Dolly's arrival. Perry said that because Dolly could make landfall along the Texas coast, "the state is taking all steps necessary to ensure the safety of our residents."

Dolly is expected to strengthen to hurricane level Tuesday and make landfall near Brownsville Wednesday.

The counties are: Aransas, Bexar, Brooks, Calhoun, Cameron, Hidalgo, Jim Wells, Kenedy, Kleberg, Nueces, Refugio, San Patricio, Victoria and Willacy.

The declaration allows the state to send emergency resources to the areas in the storm's path.

          State News Channel | 100 most recent Texas stories
        Slideshow archive | ABC13 wireless | Headlines at a glance