Buddy Hield, Brice Johnson among 10 players vying for Wooden Award

LOS ANGELES -- Malcolm Brogdon ofVirginia, Buddy Hield ofOklahoma, Brice Johnson ofNorth Carolina, Tyler Ulis ofKentucky and Denzel Valentine of Michigan State are among 10 players chosen for the John R. Wooden Award All-American team.

The team was announced Monday. The others are Grayson Allen ofDuke, Kris Dunn ofProvidence, Perry Ellis ofKansas, Yogi Ferrell ofIndianaand Georges Niang ofIowa State.

All 10 members of the team have maintained at least a cumulative 2.0 grade-point average and are making progress toward graduation, two components of the award that were insisted upon by the late UCLA coach, whose name is on the award.

Brogdon is the only player who was selected to last year's All-American team. Hield and Johnson will play in this weekend's Final Four in Houston.

The award will be presented to the men's and women's college basketball players of the year on April 8 in Los Angeles.

Related Video
Medcalf gives Hield the edge for Wooden Award
Medcalf gives Hield the edge for Wooden Award
ESPN college basketball reporter Myron Medcalf explains why he believes Buddy Hield of Oklahoma will win the Wooden Award this year.

Copyright © 2022 ESPN Internet Ventures. All rights reserved.