State Rep. Jonathan Stickland, R-Bedford, filed a measure that would let gun owners carry weapons openly or concealed without first obtaining a license.
"It is time in Texas to restore our Second Amendment rights to their originally intended level," Stickland, R-Bedford, said in a statement. "No Texan should have to pay a fee or take a class to exercise their right to bear arms."
A standard concealed license fee costs $140, but state law requires concealed license holders to also take a five-hour class which can cost between $75 to $100. Concealed license holders must also pay a fingerprint fee. Also, once you get a license, there is a $70 renewal fee every five years.
In the last session, Stickland also proposed constitutional carry but it did not pass.
Here's a look at gun-related bills that have already been filed:
Gun show sales/HB 259: Bans selling a firearm at a gun show without using the National Instant Criminal Background Check System or without a record of the sale.
Boosting firearm safety/HB 111: Reduces fees linked to firearm safety which include the license needed for a "secure gun storage device" such as a safe,case or cabinet.
Tax break on firearms and hunting supplies/SB 133: State Sen. Brandon Creighton, R-Conroe, proposes exempting firearms, ammunition and hunting supplies from taxes from the first full weekend in September 2017 to the following Sunday.
The 85th Legislature runs from January 10, 2017 to May 29, 2017.
WATCH: Texas Legislature files bills aimed at decriminalizing marijuana