Conroe mayoral race headed for June runoff

KTRK logo
Sunday, May 8, 2016
Conroe runoff candidates

CONROE, TX (KTRK) -- Former Conroe City Councilmen Jim Gentry and Toby Powell earned enough votes to head into a runoff for mayor after a tight race between the two and Doris Hickman, who placed third.

After the votes were counted Saturday night, Gentry had earned 1,142 (35.9 percent), only 85 votes ahead of Powell, who had 1,057 (33.2 percent). And Hickman was only 72 votes behind Powell with 985 (30.9 percent).

Initially, the early votes were even closer. Gentry led with 857 votes, followed by Hickman (837) and Powell (831).

This story comes to us through our partnership with the Conroe Courier.

Several other communities also held elections Saturday night. Check the results at the links below.

Ft. Bend County election results

Galveston County election results

Harris County election results

Montgomery County election results

Brazoria County election results

Friendswood election results