FEMA includes grants for temporary housing, home repairs in Texas' emergency aid

HOUSTON, Texas (KTRK) -- FEMA announced federal emergency aid has been made available to the state of Texas to help in recovery efforts in areas affected by last week's severe winter storm.

Assistance will include grants for temporary housing and home repairs, low-cost loans to cover uninsured losses, and other programs to help residents and business owners recover from the catastrophic storm.

EMBED More News Videos

FEMA is already stepping in to help those in need during this historic winter storm, and there are some helpful tips to help you get the process started. Hit play to hear the information straight from Gov. Greg Abbott.

It's for residents in 77 counties across the state including Harris, Brazoria, Fort Bend, Galveston and Waller county.

Residents can also start applying for assistance by registering online at the Disaster Assistance website, or by calling 1-800-621-3362.

EMBED More News Videos

Acting FEMA administrator Bob Fenton details what the agency is doing to help Texans.

Federal funding has also been made available to certain private nonprofit organizations for emergency protective measures.

Houston residents should visit the Houston Emergency website for more updates.

SEE RELATED STORY: FEMA sending 60 generators to Texas after power outages shut down 30 vaccine sites

To apply for FEMA Emergency Aid, you must live in the following 77 counties: Angelina, Aransas, Bastrop, Bee, Bell, Bexar, Blanco, Brazoria, Brazos, Brown, Burleson, Caldwell, Calhoun, Cameron, Chambers, Collin, Comal, Comanche, Cooke, Coryell, Dallas, Denton, DeWitt, Ellis, Falls, Fort Bend, Galveston, Gillespie, Grimes, Guadalupe, Hardin, Harris, Hays, Henderson, Hidalgo, Hood, Jasper, Jefferson, Johnson, Kaufman, Kendall, Lavaca, Liberty, Madison, Matagorda, Maverick, McLennan, Montague, Montgomery, Nacogdoches, Nueces, Orange, Palo Pinto, Panola, Parker, Polk, Rockwall, Sabine, San Jacinto, San Patricio, Scurry, Shelby, Smith, Stephens, Tarrant, Travis, Tyler, Upshur, Van Zandt, Victoria, Walker, Waller, Wharton, Wichita, Williamson, Wilson and Wise counties.

Follow Roxie Bustamante on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram

Follow Jeff Ehling on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.
Copyright © 2021 KTRK-TV. All Rights Reserved.