Texas Education Agency authorizes 4 missed school day waivers for disaster area

EMBED </>More Videos

TEA authorizes 4 missed school day waivers following Hurricane Harvey. (AP File Photo/Seth Perlman)

Texas Education Agency commissioner Mike Morath has authorized four missed school day waivers for school districts within the 58-county Hurricane Harvey disaster area.

The four waivers cover school days missed from Sept. 5-8 for school districts unable to open as they cope with the aftermath of Harvey. School districts will not have to make up those days later in the year.

"The health, safety and welfare of the students, teachers, and staff of these affected school systems is my priority," Morath said in a news release. "While these additional days may not resolve all issues, it is my hope that this additional time will allow schools to address and remediate damage."

TEA said it will continue to work with individual districts that miss instructional days after Sept. 8.

Report a typo to the ABC13 staff

Related Topics:
educationhurricane harveytexas newsAustin
(Copyright ©2019 KTRK-TV. All Rights Reserved.)