Houston Mayor Annise Parker, other city officials sworn in today


There are six new faces on city council. Brenda Stardig will represent District A, Dwight Boykins will represent District D and Richard Nguyen will represent District F. The new at-large council members are Robert Gallegos, David Robinson and Michael Kubosh. Ed Gonzales from District H was chosen as Mayor pro tem. Jerry Davis from District B is now the Vice Mayor pro tem.

Mayor Parker says she plans to work together with new members of city council. She says council members will work hard in trying to anticipate the needs of the city.

"To protect the vast economic engine that sustains us, it is time for this region to come together and take concrete steps to create some protection for our coastal communities. Whether that is a centennial gate or the Ike Dike, it is time we will do this together," Mayor Parker said. "Houston is a city that works, blessed with a booming economy. Of a 100 largest world economies, the Houston metro area is number 32."

Parker also talked about tackling the homeless issue in the city. During her speech, she also honored the four Houston firefighters who died in the line of duty last year.

The ceremony was held at the Wortham Center.

Take ABC13 with you!
Download our free apps for iPhone, iPad and Android devices

Copyright © 2022 KTRK-TV. All Rights Reserved.