Do you know any excellent LMISD grads?

LA MARQUE, TX The foundation is currently looking for nominees for the second Legacy Hall induction, which will take place Nov. 5. Candidates should be a graduate of La Marque High School or Lincoln High School. Ideal candidates should be a role model for others by having made significant contributions through outstanding service to their community or accomplishments through their chosen profession.

The 2008 inaugural inductees included Jimmy Hayley, La Marque High School Class of 1955; Barbara Taylor Rollins, Lincoln High School Class of 1959; Frances Summerville Levisee, La Marque High School Class of 1962; Harold Fattig, La Marque High School Class of 1975; and Christina Allen, La Marque High School Class of 1994.

A special committee will select up to 10 nominees to be presented to the La Marque ISD Education Foundation board of directors. The board will narrow the field until the selected individuals (up to four) are named to be inducted into the Legacy Hall. They will be recognized at a special celebration dinner set for Thursday, Nov. 5, 2009, at the Charles T. Doyle Convention Center. Tickets will go on sale to the community after October 1, 2009.

"The committee will select a cross section of top notch members from the Cougar, Eagle and Tiger nations who have continued to represent a legacy of excellence in their personal and professional lives," said Denise McLean, executive director for the foundation. "Because of the limited number of honorees, nominees will remain in the pool of candidates for three years after their initial nomination."

Anyone can nominate a Legacy Hall nominee. The application can be found online at the La Marque ISD web site, For more information about the dinner or the Legacy Hall, call 409-938-4251 or e-mail Nominations close August 31, 2009.

Find us on Facebook | Follow us on Twitter | More social networking
ABC13 widget | Most popular stories | Street-level weather
ABC13 wireless | Slideshow archive | Help solve crimes

Copyright © 2023 KTRK-TV. All Rights Reserved.