How Texans voted on bailout bill

WASHINGTON The six Texans had voted against the bill on Monday but voted for it Friday afternoon. The bill passed the House by a vote of 263-171.

Democrats who changed their votes are Henry Cuellar of Laredo, Al Green of Houston, Sheila Jackson-Lee of Houston and Solomon Ortiz of Corpus Christi. The Republicans who switched are Congressmen Mike Conaway of Midland and Mac Thornberry of Clarendon.

President Bush signed the bill.

How the Texas House members voted in the 263-171 roll call Friday in which the House approved a $700 billion emergency bailout for the nation's financial system.

  • Voting yes were 9 Democrats and 6 Republicans.
  • Voting no were 4 Democrats and 13 Republicans.
  • Democrats -- Cuellar, Y; Doggett, N; Edwards, Y; Gonzalez, Y; Green, Al, Y; Green, Gene, N; Hinojosa, Y; Jackson-Lee, Y; Johnson, E. B., Y; Lampson, N; Ortiz, Y; Reyes, Y; Rodriguez, N.
  • Republicans -- Barton, N; Brady, Y; Burgess, N; Carter, N; Conaway, Y; Culberson, N; Gohmert, N; Granger, Y; Hall, N; Hensarling, N; Johnson, Sam, N; Marchant, N; McCaul, N; Neugebauer, N; Paul, N; Poe, N; Sessions, Y; Smith, Y; Thornberry, Y.

          State News Channel | 100 most recent Texas stories
        Slideshow archive | ABC13 wireless | Headlines at a glance
Copyright © 2023 KTRK-TV. All Rights Reserved.