HISD seniors named Nat'l. Merit Scholars

HOUSTON Bellaire High School Seniors Daniel Petkevich, Karthik V. Prasad, and Rebekah A. Wendt each won a $2,500 National Merit Scholarship. Petkevich plans to prepare for a career in economics. Prasad will study biomedical engineering and Wendt plans to study for a career in public health. The two winners from DeBakey are Alexis M. Fuller, who plans a career in chemistry, and Tina Munjal, who plans a career in medicine.

HSPVA Senior Devin R. Glick also won a $2,500 National Merit Scholarship. He plans to prepare for a career in international relations. Lamar Senior Krishna R. Kulkarni plans to use his scholarship to study economics, and Westside Senior Samuel A. Winata plans to use the extra funding to study pharmacy.

These students were chosen from a talent pool of approximately 15,000 finalists in the 2008 National Merit Scholarship Program. Scholarship winners are the finalists in each state judged to have the strongest combination of accomplishments, skills, and potential for success in rigorous college studies. They were selected by a committee of college admissions officers and high school counselors. These scholars may use their awards at any accredited college or university in the United States.

The first round of National Merit Scholarships, those funded by corporations, was announced on April 16. Three HISD students were on that list, two from Bellaire and one from Westside. That brings the total for HISD to 11. Two more rounds of announcements are on tap, for May 28 and July 14, when the names of the college-sponsored merit scholarship winners will be revealed.

By the conclusion of this year's competition, about 8,200 academic champions across the country will have won National Merit Scholarships worth more than $36 million.

** What's making the news in local schools? Find plenty of education news and student achievements in our 'In the Classroom' section

Copyright © 2022 KTRK-TV. All Rights Reserved.