UH men, Rice women win C-USA meet

HOUSTON The Cougars finished the meet with 152 points, followed by Rice (116.5) and UTEP (104).

After guiding the Cougars to the team championship, head coach Leroy Burrell was named the Men's Track and Field Coach of the Year, the sixth of his career. He also has three Women's Coach of the Year awards.

The UH women finished fifth with 52 points. They trailed Rice, which took home the women's title with 133.5 points.

Freshman Chris Carter won the triple jump, clearing 15.22m (49 feet, 11.25 inches). He was followed by freshman Thomas Lang (third) and junior Jeremy Kelley (fourth).

Senior Tremaine Smith won the 200 meters with a time of 21.63 seconds, while freshman Tyron Carrier was third with a personal best time of 21.67 and freshman Lazurus Crumedy was eighth (22.28). Smith's win in the 200 meters was his second straight win in the event. He also finished second in the 60 meters with personal best of 6.79 and freshman Ed Turner was sixth with a time of 6.85.

Junior Seun Adigun earned another gold medal for the Cougars, winning the 60-meter hurdles with a time of 8.28 to tie the meet record set by former Cougar Jenny Adams in 2001. This is the second straight year that the Chicago native has won the event and she is only the second athlete to become a repeat champion. On the men's side, Lang finished fourth in the 60-meter hurdles with a time of 8.33.

Sophomore Wesley Bray turned in a silver-medal performance in the heptathlon. His 5,298 points are a personal best in the event and the second-best finish in school history. Junior Morgan Floyd followed with a third-place finish scoring 5,036 points, also a personal best and the fourth-best in school history. The men's pole vault crew finished second through fifth, led by sophomore Alex Bentley, who cleared 5.01m (16 feet, 5.25 seconds). Other finishers include, freshman Derek Schutz (third), Bray (fourth), freshman Levi Tatum (fifth) and sophomore Joel Rivera (10th).

Sophomore Quin'shundolyn MCPherson was also second in the 200 meters with a personal best of 24.31. Adigun added a fourth place finish of 24.34, which was also a personal best.

In the men's distance event senior Steve Magness finished fourth in the mile with a time of 4:13.49. Sophomore Justin Davis turned in a fourth-place finish in the 400 meters with a time of 48.96.

Freshman Christi Jones notched a seventh-place finish in the 60 meters with a time of 7.61.

In the women's shot put, freshman Kiara Pulliam finished seventh (13.63m/44 feet, 8.75 inches) and Charlissa Foster finished 11th (13.03m/42 feet, 9 inches). On the men's side, freshman Sidney Flores was eighth, sophomore Brandon Hubbard was ninth and freshman Michael Sanchez was 10th.

Freshman Laura Allred tied for seventh in the high jump clearing 1.68m (5 feet, 6 inches), tying her personal best, and senior Caresir Hamilton added a ninth place finish. Hamilton was also 13th in the triple jump competition.

The meet concluded with the 4x400 relay. The men finished second with a time of 3 minutes, 18.22 seconds. The women turned in a third-place time of 3:47.10.

During the first day of competition, senior Ivan Diggs and freshman Ed Turner earned wins in the high jump and long jump, respectively. The women's distance medley relay team also clocked a 12:04.42 finish in the event for the fourth fastest time in school history.

The Cougars will travel to Ames, Iowa, next weekend for the Iowa State Last Chance Invite before the NCAA Indoor Championships on March 15-16 in Fayetteville, Ark.

Notes: Kelley Young of UTEP set a meet record in the mile with a time of 4:45.08. ... Gloria Asumnu of Tulane became the first women's four-time event champion in C-USA history with her fourth win in five years in the 60 meters. ... UTEP's Blessing Okhebare set a meet record in the triple jump clearing 13.53m (44 feet, 4.75 inches). ... Alex Becker of Tulsa set a meet record in the 3,000 meters with a time of 9:30.44.

Conference USA Indoor Track and Field Championships Awards

  • Men's Team Champion: Houston
  • Women's Team Champion: Rice
  • Male Freshman of the Year: Ed Turner, Houston
  • Female Freshman of the Year: Charlotte Abrahamsen, Memphis
  • Male Performance of the Meet: Stephan Nerdal, Memphis
  • Female Performance of the Meet: Gloria Asumnu, Tulane
  • Blessing Okagbare, UTEP
  • Male High Point Scorer of the Meet: Patrick Mutai, UTEP
  • Female High Point Scorer of the Meet
  • Charlotte Abrahamsen, Memphis
  • Men's Coach of the Year: Leroy Burrell, Houston
  • Women's Coach of the Year: Jim Bevan, Rice
  • UH men's 4X400 finished second with a time of 3:18.22 – Smith, Milton, Crumedy, Justin Davis

    - Send us your sports story tips
    - Click here for more sports stories

  • Copyright © 2023 KTRK-TV. All Rights Reserved.