Here's what happens if you left your car abandoned in flood waters

HOUSTON (KTRK) -- Following Monday's historic flooding, if you have abandoned a car on the side of the road - and it is not blocking traffic - you have some time to arrange your own tow options. Law enforcement is NOT immediately towing abandoned vehicles that are neither blocking traffic nor a hazard to public safety.

If you abandoned your car and the City of Houston tows it...
-- Look for it at with your license plate number or VIN
-- You should expect to pay:
--- $162.50 Non-consent Tow Fee (CITY)
--- $20.00 Per day charge at Licensed Vehicle Storage Facility
--- $50.00 Notification Fee from Storage Lot if they have to notify you after 24 hours that your car has been towed there.
--- $20.00 Impound fee.

If you need to have your car towed...

-- Call several companies to compare prices. Get the price in writing.
--- We got three different prices from the same tow company within a few hours.
-- The Texas Department of Licensing & Regulations establishes statewide maximum amounts for private property tows.
--- The maximum charge for a private property tow is:
--- $250 for a car weighing up to 10,000 lbs
--- $350 for a car weighing more than 10,000 but less than 25,000 lbs
--- $450 per unit for unit for cars weighing more than 25,000 lbs with a $900 total maximum
--- These are the maximum rates statewide. Lower rates may be set by local municipal or county rule.
--- A DAILY STORAGE CHARGE of between $5.00 and $20 per day or part of a day for a car that is 25 feet long or less. A Vehicle Storage Facility must charge $35 per day or part of a day for a car that is longer than 25 feet.
--- A NOTIFICATION FEE. A VSF may charge up to $50 for notifying you that your car is at their VSF.
--- Consumer info about towing:

If you have a complaint or feel like you've been over-charged...
-- File a complaint with Houston Police Department's Auto Dealers Detail:
-- Call 832-394-4800 or email
Request a Tow Hearing
-- Consumers that have had their vehicle towed or booted without their consent are entitled to a hearing. File within 14 days.
-- File a complaint with the Texas Department of Licensing & Regulations
-- Filing a complaint with TDLR is not a substitute for requesting a tow hearing; however, you may do both.

You can locate your car at this website if it has been towed:
Copyright © 2020 KTRK-TV. All Rights Reserved.