Four SE Texas counties hit by flooding added to federal disaster declaration

<div class="meta image-caption"><div class="origin-logo origin-image ktrk"><span>KTRK</span></div></div>
Montgomery, San Jacinto, Liberty and Fort Bend counties have all been added to the federal disaster declaration issued after last month's flood.

STORY: FEMA tours flood aftermath in Montgomery County
EMBED </>More News Videos

No federal money is flowing to homeowners who had losses, because the county wasn't included in the disaster declaration.

WATCH: Compelling images and your stories from floods
EMBED </>More News Videos

Looking back at the flooding across the Houston area, and how you all stepped up to help your neighbors in need.

The move allows residents who were hit hard by the flooding to register with FEMA for help.

"Montgomery and San Jacinto counties officials, along with local non-profits, have done a terrific job in responding to the needs of our neighbors during the recent flooding," U.S. Rep. Kevin Brady said in a prepared statement. "Having these counties added to the federal disaster declaration for Individual Assistance is another important step in providing much needed resources to the families and businesses who were impacted by the storms. I strongly urge residents or business owners who were impacted by the flooding to register with FEMA for help."

To register for help, call 800-621-3362 or visit

Related Topics:
newshouston floodflash floodingdisasterFort Bend CountySan Jacinto CountyMontgomery CountyLiberty County
(Copyright ©2016 KTRK-TV. All Rights Reserved.)

Load Comments